Worth the wait

You beauty!

Well ladies and gentlemen, there she is! After being tucked away carefully in a drawer for five weeks, unwrapped only briefly for weekly (and, I have to say, somewhat ample) ‘feedings’ of brandy, the family Christmas cake emerged perfectly moist and rich.

Just the smell takes me straight back to Leeds, and the taste takes me immediately to my Grandma’s house on Christmas Eve, when we would enjoy this long awaited treat with a slice of very mature cheddar and a tiny glass of crisp, dry sherry.

Two traditions

There could be improvements – a touch more spice for instance – but I think my Grandma, and in fact my Great Grandma, would both have been proud of my attempt. And it’s up to me now to make sure this cake stays on top of the list of my very own family traditions.

A perfect slice

Wishing you all a very Happy (and delicious!) Holidays and a peaceful New Year.

TYT.

2 thoughts on “Worth the wait

Leave a Reply

